The City with the Widest Beach

Standard

As I mentioned in my previous blog post about Coimbra, Portugal I did a day trip to a city called Figueira da Foz (pronounced something like Figera da Fosh). Takes approximately an hour to get there by train and costs less than 6 euros both ways, so I figured why not.

My little brother has a friend there whose family owns a restaurant, so he sent me for a visit. 🙂 I got to Figueira da Foz around lunch time and tried to find the restaurant. Without a map or internet I had a bit of trouble, but this friendly girl from the train took me in the right direction. She didn’t speak much English, but we were able to understand each other just enough for me to get to my destination.

I had a nice lunch with eyes (whole sardines – typical Portuguese meal) and talked to my brother’s friend’s mom for a while. In the meantime, my brother woke his friend up and sent him to meet me. 🙂 Chatted for a bit with this lovely family and then I was on my way to explore this coastal city with the widest beach I have ever seen. And very empty. In fact, I was the only one on this beach as the sun was hiding that day and it was very windy.

So here are my favourite photos from Figueira da Foz. Enjoy! 🙂

(For a larger size please click on the photo and use the slideshow option)

For my other work please visit my Facebook page here. Thanks!

 

2 thoughts on “The City with the Widest Beach

Comment

